15 Thoughts While Reading “Valley of the Dolls”

I absolutely love “Valley of the Dolls”. It’s on my top ten list of favorite books.

I recently re-read it and had some thoughts about what I read.

  1. Anne loved Lyon way too damn hard. I am all for love through adversity and distance, but Anne pined for Lyon for FIFTEEN YEARS! There’s no way I am holding time and space in my heart for someone that long if they don’t seem to care.
  2. Jennifer made the right decision FOR HER about her baby.
  3. Lyon is a bit of a jerk. He just walked out of Anne’s life and never looked back.
  4. Neely is a lot to deal with. She wrecked hotel rooms, drugged herself into oblivion and almost killed herself. I was glad to see her get help.
  5. There is a reason that you can only get so much of an addictive medication. Addiction is a thing, but back when this book was written, it was acceptable to use many pills at once.
  6. Neely would not get away with any of the stuff she did now.
  7. Haven Manor definitely represents the time in which this book was written- 1940s-60s.
  8. Jennifer’s death is super sad.
  9. Anne could have just been honest with Kevin and things would have ended a lot better between them. Anne didn’t want to marry anyone but Lyon and she strung him along, if you ask me.
  10. Anne might have emasculated Lyon a bit but that’s no excuse for him to cheat on her.
  11. Mental illness is no joke.
  12. Lyon loved Anne but was terrible at showing it.
  13. Good for Anne finally having the baby she always wanted.
  14. Neely was not a good friend.
  15. Lyon was right to drop Neely from the agency like a bad habit.

I tried not to spoil the book but if you haven’t read it yet, you can get it here

Happy Reading!